The New Cross Massacre / The Deptford Fire / The Black People’s Day of Action

This is just me trying to be an ally.

I went to school just up the road, starting in 1980 so I was there for January 1981 and felt the pain. Years later I worked at 441 New Cross Road, next door to the house where it happened.

I was a local historian so I read everything, found the pictures, felt the punch in the gut from the tragedy and injustice of it, and the punch in the fist of the Black People’s Day of Action, 2nd March 1981.

It’s not for me to say much here but I want to add some materials in case there is a readiness for a Day of Action in Support 2021.

Longest Journey: a History of Black Lewisham – Joan Anim-Addo, Deptford Forum Publishing 1995

Turning the Tide: the everyday history of Deptford from the Romans to the Present  – Jess Steele, Deptford Forum Publishing, 1993

The South East London Mercury had their own fire which destroyed much of their archive, but some pictures survived. Here’s one that captures the start of the Black People’s Day of Action 2 March 1981, gathering at Pagnell Street, New Cross. Strong sense of energy that will make change. It will take longer than it should, but time will come.

I’ve been reading a lot about Granby, Toxteth, Liverpool 8. I managed to get hold of a copy of ‘Loosen the Shackles’ – the report of “the inquiry into race relations in Liverpool” in the late 1980s. Horrifying but important. We all need to learn our own shared history.

“13 dead nothing said.”

We can make that *not true*.

Mourned, remembered, angered for. And times did change, they honestly did. Not enough, but there was change. And there will be more.

And we will be there. #BlackLivesMatter.

This entry was posted in Deptford, JRS website. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment